In 1895, Hillgrove was a vibrant gold mining town with six pubs, four churches and a population of over 3,000. Hillgrove began to decline after 1900 as the mines ceased to be profitable.
The Hillgrove Museum tells the story of the rise and fall of this once busy place. Discover lives of the families who called it home and how the miners won wealth from the unforgiving earth deep underground.
The museum contains a fascinating collection that provides the visitor a unique insight into everyday life in old Hillgrove.
The Hillgrove Museum is located in the old Hillgrove School building on Scouler Street, Hillgrove.
Opening hours: Hillgrove is temporarily closed. The museum can be opened by appointment. Please call 6770 3836 to arrange a time.
Entry by gold coin donation
The museum is closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day.
Contact: (02) 6770 3679
Published on 10 Apr 2017