

MINUTES

ARMIDALE Regional Council

EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF COUNCIL

Held on

Wednesday, 11 September 2019 3pm

at

Armidale Council Chambers

PRESENT: Councillor Simon Murray (Mayor), Councillor Dorothy Robinson (Deputy Mayor), Councillor Peter Bailey, Councillor Diane Gray, Councillor Jon Galletly, Councillor Libby Martin, Councillor Andrew Murat, Councillor Debra O'Brien, Councillor Margaret O'Connor, Councillor Ian Tiley, Councillor Bradley Widders.

IN ATTENDANCE: Ms Susan Law (Chief Executive Officer), Ms Kim Bryan (General Manager Organisational Development), Mr Mark Piorkowski (General Manager Operations), Mr Scot MacDonald (General Manager Businesses), Ms Nathalie Heaton (Service Leader Governance Risk and Corporate Planning) and Mrs Jessica Bower (Executive Officer).

- 1. CIVIC AFFIRMATION AND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY
- 2. STATEMENT IN RELATION TO LIVE STREAMING OF COUNCIL MEETING
- 3. APOLOGIES AND APPLICATIONS FOR LEAVE OF ABSENCE BY COUNCILLORS NIL
- 4. DISCLOSURES OF INTERESTS NIL
- 5. PUBLIC FORUM (HAVE YOUR SAY) NIL
- 6. REPORTS FOR DECISION LEADERSHIP FOR THE REGION
- 6.1 FOR DECISION: Election of Mayor for September 2019 September 2020

Ref: AINT/2019/19074 (ARC19/3414)

183/19 Moved Cr Robinson Seconded Cr O'Brien

- (a) That the Chief Executive Officer, as Returning Officer, call for nominations for the election of Mayor for a one year term of office, from September 2019 to September 2020; and
- (b) That the method of voting be by show of hands.

The Motion on being put to the vote was CARRIED.

The CEO, acting as Returning Officer, called for nominations for the office of Mayor for 2019-2020. There were two nominations received, those of Cr Simon Murray and Cr Ian Tiley. Following the vote by show of hands, the Returning Officer declared Cr Murray elected as the Mayor for 2019-2020 term by 6 votes to 5 votes.

The CEO, acting as Returning Officer, called for nominations for the office of Deputy Mayor for 2019-20. There were three nominations received, those of Cr Peter Bailey, Cr Libby Martin and Cr Margaret O'Connor. Cr Margaret O'Connor withdrew her nomination. Following the vote by show of hands, the Returning Officer duly declared Cr Libby Martin elected as Deputy Mayor for the 2019-20 term by 8 votes to 3 votes.

There being no further business the Chair declared the meeting closed at 3:05pm.